Room a Thousand Years Wide

After a while of trying to decide what to name my blog, I decided with Room a Thousand Years Wide. I had to go with something not too specific to a single topic being I’m probably going to blab on here about about hobbies. They range from missing persons and unidentified persons, extinction, abandoned amusement parks, and dinosaurs. 

Room a Thousand Years Wide I feel is more broad, which makes it more easily associated with many topics. It is a song by Soundgarden, and it is one of those songs to me that holds a deeper meaning that you almost cannot understand because it’s so deep. It’s like standing in one place and viewing one thousand years right before your eyes, and you realize just how small the time frame we live in actually is; while, at the same time you realize how much has actually happened in that time frame. Soundgarden does that to me a lot, especially with their early stuff. They just have so much emotion, and they go into topics like life and death, vanity, instinct, and existence. That’s just what I get from listening to them anyway. Here’s the lyrics to “Room a Thousand Years Wide”.

Listen, hear, he is inside
One who lives while others lie
I close my eyes and walk a thousand years
A thousand years that aren’t mine
It seems he’s near me as I walk
One who loved what love denied
He lives these years that I walk blind
All these years cannot be mine
Tomorrow begat tomorrow
Begat tomorrow
Begat tomorrow
A thousand doors a thousand lies
Rooms a thousand years wide
He walks in the cold sun and wind
All these years will not begin
Tomorrow begat tomorrow
Begat tomorrow
Begat tomorrow

Leave a Reply

