A Random Number(48) of My Favorite Songs

It’s got 48 songs because after that I was done, this took so long! This sort of list was challenging because of ranking songs with different genres, eras, and moods, and so many could be tied. Some of the songs lyrics aren’t as notable as others. but I have lyrics listed for all. I also didn’t have time to write a caption for all songs.

Anyways, here is 48 awesome songs from awesome bands that you should know!

1. Flower – Soundgarden

SoundgardenFlowerEP

Notable Lyrics: 

“Time crept up on her

She’s early gray

Her reflection looks concerned

And flowers hit her grave”

This song is about a beautiful girl that is all consumed in her vanity, as the song progresses she begins to age. The song ends with flowers hitting her grave. There is a strong message here, beauty fades so mass importance shouldn’t be invested in vanity. The intro is quite peaceful, it reminds me of chimes for some reason; It makes me think of what the sound garden they named their band after might sound like.

2. A Whiter Shade of Pale – Procol Harum

wsop

Notable lyrics:

“and although my eyes were open

they might have just as well’ve been closed”

There is such an innocence about this song. It makes me thing of a simpler time, something along the lines of a pre-60’s wedding day in a small chapel on a hill side. The name “Whiter Shade of Pale” makes me think of a wedding dress; although, he mentions her face is what “at first just ghostly,
turned a whiter shade of pale”.
Looking up the meaning of the lyrics, it is supposely about a sexual relationship. The organ/keyboard is just beautiful, very nostagic sounding.

3. One More Bottle – Paw

paw

Notable lyrics:

“Master of my own defeat”

This song helped me through a very tough time in my life. The melody is something to me that I can’t quite explain, like I feel like I’ve known my whole life. Anyways, the lyric “master of my own defeat” saved me in a way; in fact, I wouldn’t mind getting it tattooed. It’s such an effectively strong message. You are the only one in charge of what destroys you; I’ll never forget that. Paw is such an underrated band, so talented and sadly short lived. This song is about a guy who is in an unhealthy relationship and uses alcohol to cope with his cheating girlfriend.

4. Broken Head – Catherine Wheel

MI0000626962

Notable lyrics:

“Step inside my head
See how much I see
Feel how much I feel
Just this once I will…
Show you something good
A planet with no roof
The leading edge of truth
It’s waiting up there”

Let me just introduce Catherine Wheel by saying they are absolutely incredible. The lead singer, Rob Dickinson, is the cousin of the lead singer of Iron Maiden, Bruce Dickinson. It’s funny because both cousin’s band names are that of medieval torture devices; although, Catherine Wheel credits their name after the firework of the same name. “Broken Head” is off of their 1993 album Chrome, which is absolutely fantastic and worth a listen if you haven’t already. Alright, I’m done gushing over Catherine Wheel. The song is other worldly, and has interstellar themes. It makes me think of science fiction, and a world stuck in the “space age” of the 60’s. Chrome everything. The whole album Chrome sets off that same vibe.

5. Fathom – Greta

greta

Notable lyrics:

Fathom sinking so much deeper
feeling so much better
Drinking in the air
Dreaming that I’m only sleeping
Floating down and thinking
it’s so much better here

This song makes me think of being in a subconscious state; like being in purgatory, or the existence after being sucked into a black hole. Some of the lyrics suggest possibly being the last one to survive a post-apocalyptic world, like “There is no one but me / open my eyes / no stars, no sky / nothing to fear / now I know why I’m here”. What ever the meaning, this song has a depth to it. The lead singer also wears dresses which is awesome.

6. Room a Thousand Years Wide – Soundgarden

1401821135_Soundgarden

 

Notable lyrics:

Listen, hear, he is inside
One who lives while others lie
I close my eyes and walk a thousand years
A thousand years that aren’t mine

There is no surprise this song made it to my list, it’s the name of my blog. What I love about Soundgarden is that there is a noticeably deeper depth to their lyrics. This song; in particular, takes you on a journey of a thousand years that we have lived, but at the same time haven’t lived up to it’s potential. That’s the meaning that I get out of it. As a human race we really haven’t been living life to it’s  full potential. I say that being we put importance in places it’s not needed, while putting importance to things that don’t matter. With the lyric “I close my eyes and walk a thousand years”, I see a thousand years flash in front of me watching the progression of society along with the degeneration of nature.

7. Wish You Were Here – Pink Floyd

wywh

Notable lyrics:

“So, so you think you can tell
Heaven from Hell,
Blue sky’s from pain.
Can you tell a green field
From a cold steel rail?
A smile from a veil?
Do you think you can tell?

And did they get you to trade
Your heroes for ghosts?
Hot ashes for trees?
Hot air for a cool breeze?
Cold comfort for change?
And did you exchange
A walk on part in the war
For a lead role in a cage?”

This song almost needs no comment, it is very well known and truly beautiful. It’s one of those songs that I’d hear on the radio when I was just getting into music, and I’d try to memorize the lyrics to figure out who it was. I finally found a name to the song, no surprise it was a great like Pink Floyd. I absolutely love the lyrics, they really get you thinking about the flaws in our society. It makes you think about the world and if what you’re actually seeing what’s there when you look at it. Everything isn’t what it seems, the song implies that we don’t generally know good from bad by just looking at it.

8. Black Sabbath – Black SabbathBlack_Sabbath-Black_Sabbath

Notable lyrics:

“What is this that stands before me?
Figure in black which points at me
Turn around quick, and start to run
Find out I’m the chosen one”

Black Sabbath is a band that was way before it’s time. I’d like to give them credit for inventing metal altogether; although, that would be an anecdotal statement. Their riffs, themes, and even name are everything that is and ever was “metal”; to me, anyways. The song is about someone who stands before the devil and finds out he’s the “chosen one”.

9. Knights in White Satin – The Moody Blues

kiws

Notable lyrics:

“Nights in white satin,
Never reaching the end,
Letters I’ve written,
Never meaning to send.

Beauty I’d always missed
With these eyes before,
Just what the truth is
I can’t say anymore.”

This is truly a timeless song; although, it seems frozen in time, and takes you back to 1967 every time you listen to it. The orchestra is excellent, very cinematic. It was written about the despair lead singer, Justin Hayward, was feeling after a break up and also the excitment of meeting his future wife around the same time.

10. Say Hello to Heaven / Hunger Strike – Temple of the Dog

totd

Notable lyrics:

“New, like a baby
Lost, like a prayer
The sky was your playground
but the cold ground was your bed
I said poor stargazer
She’s got no tears in her eyes
but smooth like a whisper
She knows that love heals all wounds with time”

Temple of the Dog was a project projected by Chris Cornell, lead singer of Soundgarden and Audioslave, as a tribute to his late friend and one time roommate, Andrew Wood. “Andy” was the lead singer for the Seattle band Mother Love Bone. The song “Say Hello to Heaven” was king of a farewell Chris wrote to Andy. Like always, Chris’s lyrics are incredibly beautiful with a depth you will surely feel. Temple of the Dog is perfection, being it is like a mix of Soundgarden, Mother Love Bone, and Pearl Jam (Some of the members of Mother Love Bone became Pearl Jam). Chris Cornell and Eddie Vedder vocalizing together is the most perfect singing duo I’ve ever seen.

11. Castles Made of Sand – Jimi Hendrix

axis

Notable lyrics:

“And so castles made of sand, fall in the sea, eventually. “

Jimi definitely makes the list. No one has since come close to his guitar capablities. This song is one of the most beautiful songs I know. The meaning basically is that nothing lasts forever. It mirrors the lyrics from Fuel’s 1998 song “Shimmer”, “All that shimmers in this world is sure to fade /
Away again”

12. Scar Tissue – The Red Hot Chili Peppers

cal

Notable lyrics:

“I’ll make it to the moon if I have to crawl and
With the birds I’ll share
This lonely view…”

This song is one from my childhood, it was 2000 when I first heard it. I heard it in the car on my families very last camping trip before my parent’s divorce. John Frusciante’s guitar riff is still the most beautiful one I have ever heard. It was a song I heard on the radio for years without knowing what it was, and it wasn’t until 2005 that I finally found out it was The Chili Peppers. I was obsessed with them for two straight years after that. The song seems to be about the relationships and break ups of the Anthony Kiedis, but it’s about his past struggles with addiction.

13. Birth Ritual – SoundgardenMI0002252418

Notable lyrics:

“Lying like needles
On forest earth
Euphoric rush
Trees bend to pray for us
I’m sputtering
Like cold machines
Late for the birth ritual, ritual, ritual, ritual
You can drive my tail
To watch the circus
A birth ritual
A birth of idiots
Now I woke up blessed
And good strives for heartache
Marked for the death ritual, ritual, ritual
This song is incredible and I have no idea to why it isn’t featured on any Soundgarden albums, it can only be found on the 1992 film Singles soundtrack; although, it is found on a bonus addition of their 1996 Down on the Upside. The song’s meaning isn’t officially known, although it seems to be poking fun at our tendency to obsess over celebrating traditions. I see it as a sort of science fiction view on a society and our race’s reproduction. It almost seems like it’s seen through the eye’s of some ancient entity; therefore, it’s lyrics seem somewhat primal. Life and death are depicted as an endless cycle and much like a machine; moreover, we are merely reproduction machines. Our importance of tradition is implicated, with the mentioning of the birth and death rituals (possibly birthdays, and funerals), and describing our traditions as “a circus” and ” a birth of idiots”.

14. Monkey Gone to Heaven – The  Pixies

pix

Notable lyrics:

“the creature in the sky
got sucked in ahole
now there’s a hole in the sky
and the ground’s not cold
and if the ground’s not cold
everything is gonna burn
we’ll all take turns
i’ll get mine, too
this monkey’s gone to heaven”

There is a reason Kurt Cobain wanted to rip off the Pixies, they are incredible and extremely influential.  This song’s about something I completely agree with, Environmentalism, the protect of the environment. There is a lot of ocean references that lead singer, Black Francis, describes as because it’s so mysterious, yet we are polluting it to mass extents. The song also mentions Hebrew numerology with man being 5, the devil being 6, and god being 7; which is a neat concept..

15. Wild Horses – The Rolling Stones

wh

Notable lyrics:

“Childhood living is easy to do
The things you wanted I bought them for you
Graceless lady you know who I am
You know I can’t let you slide through my hands
Wild horses couldn’t drag me away”

16. Too Many Puppies – Primus

frizzle fry

Notable lyrics:

“Too many puppies with guns in their hands.
Too many puppies in foreign lands.
Are dressed up sharp in suits of green and
Placed upon the war machine.
Too many puppies are just like me.”

This song is described by Les Claypool as how he feels about war, and that a lot of soldiers are often too young to go off to war. He uses the term “dogs of war” calling the young soldiers merely puppies. It was the first song ever composed by Primus.

17. Just Like Heaven – The Cure

jlh

Notable lyrics:

“You
Soft and only
You
Lost and lonely
You
Strange as angels
Dancing in the deepest oceans
Twisting in the water
You’re just like a dream”

This song has such an innocent view on love. An overall fun and happy song. One thing that makes The Cure interesting is that their sound doesn’t match their image.

18. Fade Into You – Mazzy Star

469241532_640

Notable lyrics:

“I want to hold the hand inside you
I want to take a breath that’s true
I look to you and I see nothing
I look to you to see the truth
You live your life
You go in shadows
You’ll come apart and you’ll go blind
Some kind of night into your darkness
Colors your eyes with what’s not there.

Fade into you
Strange you never knew
Fade into you
I think it’s strange you never knew”

19. 6th Avenue Heartache / One Headlight – The Wallflowerswall

Notable lyrics:

“Now walkin’ home on those streets
The river winds move my feet
Subway steam, like silhouettes in dreams
They stood by me, just like moonbeams

Look out the window, down upon that street
And gone like a midnight was that man
But I see his six strings laid against that wall
And all his things, they all look so small
I got my fingers crossed on a shooting star
Just like me-just moved on”

– 6th Avenue Heartache

“Well this place is old
It feels just like a beat up truck
I turn the engine, but the engine doesn’t turn
Well it smells of cheap wine & cigarettes
This place is always such a mess
Sometimes I think I’d like to watch it burn
I’m so alone, and I feel just like somebody else
Man, I ain’t changed, but I know I ain’t the same”

– One Headlight

One Headlight holds a different sort of significance to me lyrically. I am a twin, and my twin died two months after we were born due to heart disease. The lyrics “So long ago, I don’t remember when / That’s when they say I lost my only friend / Well they said she died easy of a broken heart disease / As I listened through the cemetery trees”, have helped me cope with my loss. It’s crazy how fitting they are to her, even mentioning that she died of a “broken heart disease”. The song helped me tremendously through my adolescence knowing she could of been there with me.

20. Learn to Fly – The Foo Fighters

220px-LearnToFly1

Notable lyrics:

“Hook me up a new revolution
‘Cause this one is a lie
We sat around laughing and watched the last one die

Now I’m looking to the sky to save me
Looking for a sign of life
Looking for something to help me burn out bright
I’m looking for a complication
Looking ’cause I’m tired of lying
Make my way back home when I learn to fly high”

21. Would? – Alice in Chains

aicc

Notable lyrics:

“Know me broken by my master
Teach thee on child of love hereafter

Into the flood again
Same old trip it was back then
So I made a big mistake
Try to see it once my way

Drifting body it’s sole desertion
Flying not yet quite the notion”

22. Start Choppin’ – Dinosaur Jr.

dinosaur-jr-start-choppin

Notable lyrics:

“There’s no goin’ back to that
I’m so numb, can’t even react
Didn’t say it’s not ok
But we aren’t dealin’ the same way

I ain’t tellin’ you a secret
I ain’t tellin’ you goodbye”

23. Bullet With Butterfly Wings -Smashing Pumpkins

bwbw

Notable lyrics:

“Despite all my rage I am still just a rat in a cage
Then someone will say what is lost can never be saved

24.  Hey Jealousy – Gin Blossoms

gb

Notable lyrics:

“Tomorrow we can drive around this town
And let the cops chase us around
The past is gone but something might be found
To take its place…hey jealousy”

25. Fripp – Catherine Wheel

MI0000626962

Notable lyrics:

“There’s a shark shaped fin
In the water of my dreams
Alligator screams
From the depths there
I’d swim with you there

26. Sometimes Always – The Jesus and the Mary Chain Featuring Hope Sandoval

sa

Notable lyrics:

“I gave you all I had
I gave you good and bad
I gave but you just threw it back

I won’t get on my knees
Don’t make me do that please
I’m been away and now T’m back”

27. How Soon is Now? – The Smiths

ts

Notable lyrics:

“I am the son
and the heir
of a shyness that is criminally vulgar
I am the son and heir
of nothing in particular

You shut your mouth
how can you say
I go about things the wrong way
I am human and I need to be loved
just like everybody else does”

28. I Wanna Be Adored – The Stone Roses

sr

Notable lyrics:

“I don’t need to sell my soul
He’s already in me

I wanna be adored”

29. Shout – Tears for Fearstff

Notable lyrics:

Shout, shout, let it all out

These are the things I can do without
Come on, I’m talking to you, come on
In violent times
You shouldn’t have to sell your soul
In black and white
They really really ought to know”

30. If I had a Gun – Noel Gallaghers’s High Flying Birds

Noel-Gallagher-If-I-Had-A-Gun

Notable lyrics:

“If I had a gun, I’d shoot a hole into the sun
And love would burn this city down for you
If I had the time, I’d stop the world and make you mine
And every day would stay the same with you

Give you back the dream, show you now what might had been
If all the tears you cry would fade away (away, away, away…)
I’ll be by your side, when they come to say goodbye
We will live to fight another day”

31. Violet – Hole

131991319302-oct-11-bckgnd

Notable lyrics:

“And the sky was made of amethyst
And all the stars look just like little fish
You should learn when to go
You should learn how to say no”

32. Punk Rock Girl / If You Love Somebody You Better Set Them on Fire – The Dead Milkmen

beezlw

Notable lyrics:

“Punk rock girl you look so wild
Punk rock girl let’s have a child
We’ll name her Minnie Pearl
Just you and me
Eating fudge banana swirl
Just you and me
We’ll travel round the world
Just you and me punk rock girl”

– Punk Rock Girl

“Know that it would be untrue
Know that I would be a liar
If I was to say to you
I didn’t set your house on fire”

– If You Love Somebody Better Set Them on Fire

33. Fuck and Run / Never Said – Liz Phair

eig

Notable lyrics:

“And whatever happened to a boyfriend
The kind of guy who tries to win you over?
And whatever happened to a boyfriend
The kind of guy who makes love ’cause he’s in it?

And I want a boyfriend
I want a boyfriend
I want all that stupid old shit
Like letters and sodas
Letters and sodas”
– Fuck and Run

“I don’t know where you heard it
Don’t know who’s spreadin’ it ’round
All I know is I’m clean as a whistle, baby
I didn’t utter a sound”

– Never Said

34. He’s My Thing / Lashes – Babes in Toyland

bit

Notable lyrics:

Baby’s got ruby jewel lashes

That’ll whip your spine
Every time she blinks makes me sink
Into ruby, ruby, ruby jewel lashes

So I put on my best Sunday dress
And I waltz straight into this mess
Posing as a guest or something much less
Than a crazy old doll in a crazy old dress”

-Lashes

35. 100% / Diamond Sea – Sonic Youth

sy

Notable lyrics:

I stick a knife in my head – thinking ’bout your eyes
But now that you been shot dead – I’ve got a new surprise

“I been waitin’ for you just to say
He’s off to check his mind
But all I know is you got no money
But that’s got nothing to do with a good time

Can you forgive the boy who – shot you in the head
Or should you get a gun and – go and get revenge?”

-100%

“Time takes its crazy toll
And how does your mirror grow
You better watch yourself when you jump into it
’cause the mirror’s gonna steal your soul”

-Diamond Sea

36. Aliens on Alcohol / Twilight Curtains – Truly

truly

Notable lyrics:

“Well I’m on the road
With a lonely ghost”

-Aliens on Alcohol

“Memories, there’s a reason not to know”

-Twilight Curtains

37. Tribe – Gruntrunk

grunt

Notable lyrics:

“Yeah, we’re poor and we’re living hard
With the others while they’re living large
Let’s get some land and we’ll get a boat
Plant some trees and dig a moat

I just want to fly my freak flag
I just want to fly my freak flag
Come on, join our tribe
Come on, join our tribe”

38. Kid Candy – Seaweed

seawed

Notable lyrics:

“don’t feel – hazed off
the sequel is lame
this land’s played out
not a spots the same

these hands can’t build
if to save my life
respect is key
it’s all that matters”

39. Jessie / Lolita – Paw

paw

Notable lyrics:

“oh but Jessie
it’s cold outside
and I’m not coming home
I don’t know where to be
when the morning comes
and Jessie you’re a good dog
please don’t follow me
just go on home”

-Jessie

Maybe I’ve asked for too much
Maybe I shouldn’t care
But why the heaven would you wanna stay
And why the hell would I want you?”

-Lolita

40. Nearly Lost You / All That I Know – Screaming Trees

dust

Notable lyrics:

“Bite the thorn that pierce the skin
Come back down to earth again
The cold is creeping deep inside
You disconnect the telephone line”

-All I Know

41. Low – Cracker

low

Notable lyrics:

“A million poppies gonna make me sleep
Just one rose it knows your name
The fruit is rusting on the vine
A fruit is calling from the trees

Hey don’t you wanna go down
Like some junky cosmonaut
A million miles below their feet
A million miles, a million miles”

42. 4th of July – Soundgarden

su

Notable lyrics:

“Shower in the dark day
Clean sparks driving down
Cool in the waterway
Where the baptized drown
Naked in the cold sun
Breathing life like fire
Thought I was the only one
But that was just a lie

Cause I heard it in the wind
And I saw it in the sky
And I thought it was the end
And I thought it was the 4th of July”

44. Dizz Knee Land – Dada

dada

Notable lyrics:

“I just ran away from home
Now I’m going to Dizz Knee Land
I just crashed my car again
Now I’m going to Dizz Knee Land”

45. Aneurysm / Dive – Nirvana

incestide

Notable lyrics:

“Come on over and do the twist
Over-do it and have a fit
Love you so much it makes me sick
Come on over and do the twist”

-Aneurysm

46. Kill the President – Coffin Break

ktpres

Notable lyrics:

“I’m so happy we live in harmony
I’m so happy we’ll change history
I’m so…
I’m so happy I wanna kill my family

I’m so happy elected Bush today
I’m so happy I’m not a criminal
I’m so happy elected a crook again
I’m so happy wanna kill the president”

47. Girl from Mars – Ash

ash

Notable lyrics:

“Sitting in our dreamy days by the water’s edge,
On a cool summer’s night.
Fireflies and the stars in the sky,
Gentle glowing light,
From your cigarette.
The breeze blowing softly on my face,
Reminds me of something else.
Something that in my memory has been replaced,
Suddenly it all comes back.
And as I look to the stars.”

48. Very Ape – Nirvanain untero

Notable lyrics:

“I am buried up to my neck in
Contradictionary flies
I take pride as the king of illiterature
I’m very ape and very nice

If you ever need anything please don’t
Hesitate to ask someone else first
I’m too busy acting like I’m not naive
I’ve seen it all, I was here first

Out of the ground
Into the sky
Out of the sky
Into the dirt”

Leave a Reply

