Bird Sightings from 2015


 

 

I have developed an interest in birds recently; in fact, I’ve grown quite fond of those feathered critters. I live in a really good area for sightings because I live near a creek, a park, and a generally wooded area. Just yesterday I started documenting my sightings, but I remember some earlier sightings from this year as well.


Early 2015 Sightings:

 Common Grackle

Number seen: 20+ (Not at same time)

Location Seen: Cape Fear Community College parking Lot

Sex seen: M/F

bird1
Male
bird2
Female

These birds hang out at the parking lot at my school. I’d see them everyday, and thought they were ravens or blackbirds, until I discovered they were Grackles. I originally thought the females were a completely different species because of sexual dimorphism.


Northern Mockingbird

Number seen: 20+ (Not at same time)

Location seen: Cape Fear Community College parking lot

Sex seen: N/A

bird12

Another bird that has made home on my school’s campus.


Turkey Vulture

Number seen: 1

Location seen: Field a block from my house

Sex seen: N/A

bird3

 


Short-Eared Owl or Barred Owl

Number seen: 1

Location seen: Field a block from my house

Sex seen: N/A

barred_owl_granthickey
Barred Owl
Short-eared_Owl__9003
Short-Eared Owl

It was on the ground as I entered the field, and I got to see this beautiful creature pretty close in flight. I believe it to be a Barred owl, but am not sure.


Great Blue Heron

Number seen: 5+ (Not at same time)

Location seen: The creek behind my house, and the park.

Sex seen: N/A

bird 4

 



Dunlin or some type of Sandpiper

Number seen: 5+

Location seen: The creek at the park

Sex seen: N/A

bird13

 


May 2015 Sightings:

Eastern Bluebird

Number seen: 1

Location seen: My front yard

Sex seen: M

bird5

I saw this bird from looking out my window. I saw it dive down to the ground and spread it’s wings. I read this is how they catch their prey.


American Robin

Number seen: 5 (Same day, but different times)

Location seen: Residence off Market St.

Sex seen: M/F, Some N/A

bird6

This is a rather sad story. I was watching someone’s pets while they were out of town. I wake up one morning to find three dead baby birds strung around the kitchen and hallway. Their cat had decided to give me presents; sorry kitty but I wasn’t a fan of them. It was so sad, I walked outside to see where they may have come from, but the nests I did see were far too high for kitty to climb. The culprit may have been a Blue Jay being they are known to destroy and knock over nests. Blue Jays are very abundant in my area; in fact, I’m so used to seeing them that I didn’t think to put them on this list. I noticed a distraught Female American Robin search the back yard; It must be the mother. It broke my heart because birds are some of the known animals that experience loss. Rest in peace three little birds.



Bobolink (possible)

Number seen: 1

Location seen: Residence off Market Street

Sex seen: N/A

bird7

This is one I’m uncertain of, because I only saw it in flight and only identifying marker I noticed was a white stripe across it’s tail. I saw this bird the same day as the American Robins.

 

 


June 2015 Sightings:

White Crowned Sparrow

Number seen: 1

Location seen: Taco Bell parking lot off of Market Street

Sex seen: N/A

white-crowned-sparrow-1

 


Cardinal

Number seen: 2+

Location seen: Residence off Wrightsville Ave

Sex seen: M/F

Female (left), Male (right)
Female (left), Male (right)

Cardinals are among the most abundant birds in my area along with Blue Jays and Mourning Doves. These birds were hopping together under a bird feeder at a residence I was landscaping. They were accompanied by a Mourning Dove who was mingling right with them.


Mourning Dove

Number seen: 1

Location seen: Residence off of Wrightsville Ave

Sex seen: N/A

bird9

Among the most abundant birds in my area. They are also the first I could identify by their call. A distinctive Cooing sound. This bird was seen hanging around the Cardinals listed above.



Baltimore Oriole

Number seen: 1

Location seen: Residence off of Wrightsville Ave

Sex seen: N/A

Baltimore Oriole

Seen in the same location as the previous birds.



Yellow-Crowned Night Heron

Number seen: 2 (Same day, not together)

Location seen: The creek behind my house, and at the park

Sex seen: N/A

bird11

Leave a Reply

